The Ramblings of Amazingness by Jenny J Bean

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Halloween… in May… in Chicago… May 26, 2010

Filed under: Randomness — The Ramblings of Amazingness By Jenny J Bean @ 11:41 pm

Okay. So, I’m totally not in the mood to write, but I have to tell you about yesterday. I went to Chicago for the day to the Sweets and Snacks Expo. My roommate and I decided to go on a whim after we watched ‘How It’s Made’ on TV. It was an episode about how candy is made (Milky Ways). They did an interview at this candy convention about the candy. I said “where do they have a giant candy convention? It’s got to be in New York…” One of my roommates, being the information spout that she is, Googled it and discovered that it is in Chicago every year and that it was actually this week. So we went. We figured, why not? My roommate was already going to be in Chicago last weekend for her tour, and I needed a break– desperately. I got on a plane at 6:45am and got on the plane back at 5:15pm. We had an amazing breakfast in Downtown Chicago and went to the convention at the biggest convention center I’ve ever seen– McCormick Place.

For the first couple of hours, we were talking to people about possible ‘purchases’– after that, we gave up and basically went on a trick or treat rampage… the cool thing is, 90% of the candy is not even on the market yet. I did find some cool stuff for my party company. After 2 or 3 pieces of candy each in the morning, we were pretty much candy-ed out. We took the rest home: to eat forever/throw at everyone single person that we know until it disappears.

So worth it.


Now I’m busy cleaning out my closet and getting rid of all the clothes I’ll never wear again (there is a lot!!!) I’m looking forward to all the extra space and not putting on a piece of clothing in the morning and deciding that it doesn’t look quite right…

Off to more closet cleaning!

Jenny J Bean

 

3 Responses to “Halloween… in May… in Chicago…”

  1. jack d Says:

    i’ll be on RI training today if you need to unload any excess candy……. : )

  2. Sarah Says:

    If you need someone who will take the clothing off your hand let me know!

  3. Nora Says:

    Awesome! I had no idea such a convention existed! I will have to remember that for next year! 🙂


Leave a Reply

