The Ramblings of Amazingness by Jenny J Bean

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Easier said than done, of course… April 24, 2010

Filed under: Randomness — The Ramblings of Amazingness By Jenny J Bean @ 11:48 am

Supremely good day.

Set up two meetings with schools to do after school classes next fall with my company (we did kids birthday parties and classes). We proposed our new class to three schools, and got pitch meetings with two–

Got un-waitlisted for Israel… I’m going!!! YAY!

I had my second performance of Kevin’s Bed (the Irish play I’ve been rehearsing) and all 3 of my roommates came. I was so happy that they did. I know at least one of them was too busy…

I haven’t been in the mood to write much lately, but I have been doing a lot of ‘discovering’… so I guess I should write. I guess that was really the whole point of this in the first place…

I’ve been stewing about this for a while, and I think something finally clicked…
A few months ago, while I was recording “Les Miz”, this major revelation hit me. I didn’t realize until a few days ago how much of an impact it really had on my life. I was singing high soprano in a group on a recording. I knew I was going to have to make it through a whole day of singing higher than is comfortable for me, but I didn’t know if I could make it through 6 hours of recording. We were singing “Do you hear the people sing”, I think and as I was singing, it hit me. It was so much easier to sing the notes comfortably when I didn’t force it or push at all. As soon as I started relaxing a little and not pushing so hard, all the sudden, I could do it with no trouble at all. I didn’t give it much thought at the time, but when I came back for the second recording session, I started out relaxed, and the whole day went easily and I was able to do everything I needed to do with no strain at all.

Ever since then, one thing at a time, I all facets of my life, the same concept is clicking. ‘Trying too hard’ has been a pretty solid theme throughout my life and often gets me into more trouble than if I hadn’t cared in the first place…

When I played volleyball in school, for a long time, one of my major issues in playing was hitting to ball too hard, and sometimes, I would lose control of the ball that way.
The other day, my team started playing, and after a few plays, I started just letting the ball hit my arms and stopped ‘helping it along’. All of the sudden, like I’d been a pro all my life, every single ball went exactly were I intended it to go.

Today, another revelation. I discovered the secret of taking amazing fingerprints of another person — they come out the clearest when the other person doesn’t try to help out. If they can relax, trust, and be patient, it takes 10 minutes instead of the 30 minutes and upward that it takes to get a clean set from someone who can’t relax.


So, I think I’m ready to see where this new perspective takes me… I think I’m starting to get it. (And I’m wondering why it took me so long to find it). Sometimes you just have to trust, take it easy on yourself (not an easy task) and see where it takes you… easier said than done, of course.

I’ve also been infinitely less stressed about work and scheduling these days… and when I figure out why, I’ll write… I’m thinking it has to do with finally feeling confident that my bosses know that I’m good at what I do… more on that another time.


Braindead from all this thinking…

JJ Bean 😕

 

One Response to “Easier said than done, of course…”

  1. Barbara Underwood Says:

    Congratulations, Jenny! It’s a real trick to keep on wanting things a lot and at the same time to hold back from trying too hard!


Leave a Reply

