The Ramblings of Amazingness by Jenny J Bean

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Take Me to the World… Barbara Cook Style March 26, 2010

Filed under: Randomness — The Ramblings of Amazingness By Jenny J Bean @ 10:52 am

I actually lost it for about 2 minutes in the office today. Someone implied that I was wasting her time, and I just had it. The good news was, two minutes later, I was out of the office and totally fine thanks to a co-worker who made me laugh uncontrollably for the next 20 minutes. She’s a ‘good egg’ (one of her expressions, not mine). And apparently she can stand them up on the first day of Spring too…





I inserted that photo at 11pm and it’s now 9am. Oops. Guess I was tired…

Anyway, the rest of yesterday was great. Worked for a while, visited my friend who is trying to start up a soap business called Sabao. She makes really cool bars of soap that look like agate rocks… and then I went to dinner, “Sondheim on Sondheim”, and the show’s after party with one of my roommates. It was a ‘revue’ style show with Tom Wopat, Barbara Cook, and Vanessa Williams. Actually, the star of the show was Sondheim. He video narrated the whole thing– it was sort of a VH1 “Behind the Music” special with music. Really interesting piece, and of course, hearing Barbara Cook sing ” “Take Me to the World” and “Send in the Clowns” wasn’t a total tragedy ;-). I wouldn’t mind one bit having grace like that… I imagine that watching Barbara Cook sing must be like it might be like watching Itzhak Perlman play the Violin–with such elegance, passion and nuance as he plays his instrument. Time just stops in that moment. It was a truly privilege to watch. Amazing.


JJ Bean

 

Leave a Reply

