The Ramblings of Amazingness by Jenny J Bean

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Choreography of an Amazing Day February 1, 2010

Filed under: Randomness — The Ramblings of Amazingness By Jenny J Bean @ 1:24 am

I saw a tag line for a movie that went something like: work, business lunch, trainer, afternoon meetings, happy hour, ball game: what day is it again? That’s how I’ve been feeling more than not for the last couple of weeks. I really don’t have any clus what day of the week it is half the time…

Today, I had a crazy-busy, but amazing day. I got up at 7:30am, and went to Riverdale to tutor my SAT students in the morning, then I went to my friend Elizabeth’s office, where she had managed to schlep her entire collection of theater books and scripts that she was looking to get rid of. I basically left with a 20 pound bag of free theater books. 15 pounds of which were for my roommates (I think they liked most the books I picked out for them- they took them!). My mom goes to book fairs and fills up at least two paper grocery bags every time with books for herself, us (her kids), her friends, my aunts, and my grandmother. I guess the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.


Later in the day, I performed in a 10 minute short play called “The Choreography of Cyn and Marta”. It’s a beautiful story about two women, Cyn and Marta, who have decided to get married publicly in Dayton, Tennessee, their home, despite the legality of the marriage. The play takes place when the women are ages 70 and 80 with flashbacks to ages 25 and 35– when they first met and fell in love. I played Marta- at 70 and at 25. They play an absolutely gorgeous piece about fulfilling dreams and never giving up.

It was one of the best experiences I’ve had on stage in a long time, and I am thrilled to have been part of such a beautiful piece thanks to the F.A.C.T. Company (Friends Always Creating Theater) and their Words and Wine series.

Even later in the day, I went to the first full length show of the sketch comedy group, Curvy by Nature. They are a group that does a lot of sketches that have to do with body image. I was an original member of the group, but I decided to leave because I realized that my heart wasn’t in it. But I am totally their #1 fan! They were awesome, and I’m so proud of them for doing such a great job!!!


Now I’m home drinking ‘Bedtime Tea’, grading my weekly quota of essays, and writing. Good day. Really good day.

Really ready for a full night’s sleep.

Jenny J Bean

 

Leave a Reply

