The Ramblings of Amazingness by Jenny J Bean

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Good Grief and Birthday Cakes January 28, 2010

Filed under: Randomness — The Ramblings of Amazingness By Jenny J Bean @ 1:39 am

I’m at a bit of a loss for words today. One of the best Census managers in Manhattan got fired today for standing her ground on a completely unfair situation. I don’t know that there are words to describe how I feel about this. You know when Charlie Brown gets frustrated and his mouth looks like a zig zag? That’s how I feel.

This was only compounded by how much I care for her personally and that it is her birthday today. After work today, I decided that I was going to buy her a cupcake and a candle and go to her apartment to cheer her up. I ended up buying a mini chocolate cake and sparkler candles, and I brought along another close friend of hers that works for the Census. We get to her place, knowing that she always is getting ready for bed at this hour. We told the doorman to ring her. He said that she had just left 15 minutes ago with two ladies.

The hunt began. We went to all of the likely suspects with cake in tow– all her favorite places in the neighborhood. No go. Then, we decided that we would guess at who she was with. I texted my former boss (as of today- she is moving uptown to another office), who I had an inkling might be one of the ‘ladies’ that she was with. After 45 minutes, right as we were about to call it quits, I got a text back that they were together and at a Turkish restaurant a few blocks away. We found them, lit the candles, and sang happy birthday… Sometimes things work out the way their supposed to. (Let’s be honest though… if we hadn’t found her, I would have fallen asleep in the lounge chair in her lobby with a cake in my lap…)

XOXO Stacy. You are incredible. Happy Birthday!

Love Always,

Jenny J Bean

 

2 Responses to “Good Grief and Birthday Cakes”

  1. giacchi Says:

    WHAT?!? so sorry to hear this, how great of you to show your support… xox

  2. Stacy Says:

    My Sweet Jenny,
    I thank you from the bottom of my heart for all the lovely things you said and did for me!! I will miss not seeing you everyday!!


Leave a Reply

