The Ramblings of Amazingness by Jenny J Bean

Just another WordPress.com weblog

SAGgin’ and Hourless January 20, 2010

Filed under: Randomness — The Ramblings of Amazingness By Jenny J Bean @ 10:34 pm

I got booked on a TV series show today! Going to Staten Island to shoot Boardwalk Empire in a singing scene. (Don’t worry– they’re busing me out there, I don’t have to walk 😉 ) I also found out today that I will more than likely get to join SAG relatively soon… (For those of you who don’t know, SAG is the Screen Actors Guild)… but I don’t want to jinx it just in case… but I’m SOOOOOO excited. I have been looking to join this particular union since I moved here, but it’s really hard to get a bid into. The funny thing is, when I do join, it’s going to cost a fortune. Looks like I’m going to keep working for the census for a while… but it’s totally worth it! You get paid twice (sometimes 3x) as much for extra work as non-union, I can work toward health insurance and pension, and I can get seen for many more films, TV shows, and commercials.

Crossing my fingers… AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH

Anyway, more Census drama today, but I am saved by the fact that I am almost out of hours.

Out of hours (OWt-awf-owERs) noun: According to the US Census Bureau, working for over 40 hours in one calendar week is a “fireable” offense.

If I work (or get caught working) for one minute over 40 hours in a week, it is grounds for immediate dismissal. This presents a bit of a problem, because there are quotas that we are asked to meet that often consume more than 40 hours of work per week. This really really sucked during the operations where I was a supervisor, because supervising 40 people with 40 people’s work load in 40 hours a week is next to impossible. My choices were to either stop working right then and there when I hit 40 hours but not get the job done or work anyway to get the job done but chance getting caught and fired.

At least I have a legitimate excuse to stop working this week until Sunday (at least for the Census). I, like a good little idiot, have to go to an ACT training, grade 50 new essays for this week, and am going to be on set on Friday night until 4am or so… umm… masochism.

I fully intend to sleep in on at least two out of three of those days. Indefinitely.

Oh, and a manicurist scolded me today for dry/broken nail cuticles. The thing was: I wasn’t even getting a manicure. 😉

Goodnight moon. Don’t call us, we’ll call you.

Jenny J Bean

 

2 Responses to “SAGgin’ and Hourless”

  1. giacchi Says:

    SAGalicious… good on you, ma cherie! xox

  2. Craig Paul Says:

    Sounds great Jenny. Keep us posted.
    Love,
    Dad


Leave a Reply

