The Ramblings of Amazingness by Jenny J Bean

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Second Grader from the Past December 28, 2009

Filed under: Randomness — The Ramblings of Amazingness By Jenny J Bean @ 8:31 am

So, I realized today that writing about something amazing everyday might be an incredibly difficult feat. It occurred to me that most people have a very low amazingness to life ratio. I asked around, and most people seem to average one amazing moment per week, so I’m thinking how in the world am I going to come up with 7?!?

You know those people that stories just follow? My dad is one of those people. I thought for a long time that it was just bad luck (or good luck- whichever way you look at it.) I realize that stories follow those people around, because those people create stories. And tell them. So, I guess I’ll have to create my own amazingness to beat the average seven times over…

I’ve given a lot of thought to what might be worth doing that’s amazing today. I bought a book a few days ago called “My Life in Lists” that I had some time to flip through today while I was in holding today. (For all the non-actors out there, holding is literally the ‘holding’ room for actors while they’re waiting to be called to film on set). One of the first pages I flipped to was titles “My Favorite Teachers from the Past” and it told me to make a list of all the teachers that made a difference in my life over the years. As I started listing teachers, I realized that there are a few (especially the very early elementary ones) that I still remember, but haven’t actually seen since elementary school. I had two teachers in elementary school, my first and second grade teachers, that really made a difference in my life. I’m still in touch with my first grade teacher, Mrs. Rubin. (She lives in my parents’ neighborhood, so I saw her every Halloween growing up. She gave me an extra huge candy bar every year…), but I haven’t seen or heard from my second grade teacher, Mrs. Friedlander, since I switched to public school in 1994.

I owe her a thank you. I’m not usually this cheesy, but I feel that the occasion calls for it:

Dear Mrs. Friedlander,

You may or may not remember me, but I was in your second grade class over 15 years ago. I just wanted to let you know that, whether or not you knew at the time, you made a very big impact on my life. You always made me feel incredibly special, and were the solitary reason that I was happy to come to school everyday. You helped show me how to love learning, and I have never stopped. You told me once that I could do anything… and I can not express in words how much that faith has meant and how it has helped me get through the tough times in my life. You are incredible.

Thank you so much for everything you did for me and for everything I know you did for so many others.

Love Always,

Jenny– (Jennifer)
Second Grade Class of 1992

PS. Although my wrist has long past outgrown it, I still have the little pearl bracelet that you gave me with my name engraved on it. I keep it in my box of pictures and special things that I will continue to take with me throughout my life. Every time I see it, it makes me smile.

I hand wrote it on stationary, sealed it, now all I need to do is figure out how to get it to her— I don’t even know if she lives in Texas anymore– It’s the information age; somebody’s gotta know where she is, right?

Always Rambling,

Jenny J Bean

 

Leave a Reply

